Skip Navigation

Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute

Scientific Advisory Board

JHMRI’s Scientific Advisory Board reviews the Institute’s activities on a yearly basis, and provides recommendations on organizational, administrative and scientific matters.

Daniel Goldberg, MD, PhD

Professor of Medicine and Molecular Microbiology
Washington University

He is also an investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. He served as Director of the Medical Scientist Training Program and currently serves as Co-chief of the Infectious Diseases Division. Dr. Goldberg studies the biochemistry of Plasmodium falciparum, focusing on proteolytic events responsible for hemoglobin degradation and host cell exit.

Diane Griffin, MD, PhD

Professor, Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

She was the founding Director of the Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute. She holds joint appointments in Neurology and Medicine at JHSOM and is past President of the American Society for Virology, the Association of Medical School Microbiology Chairs and the American Society for Microbiology. In 2009, she was inducted into the Maryland Women's Hall of Fame. She currently serves as Vice President of the National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Griffin served as the Alfred and Jill Sommer Professor and Chair in the Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology from 1994 to 2015.

Thomas Kelly, MD, PhD

Benno C. Schmidt Chair of Cancer Research
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Until March 2013, he served as Director of the Sloan-Kettering Institute, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. Previously he was the Boury Professor and Chairman of Molecular Biology and Genetics at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. In 2000, he was Founding Director of the University's Institute for Basic Biomedical Sciences. Dr. Kelly's work has focused on how the genome is duplicated during the cell cycle, particularly the ways in which replication of DNA is initiated and controlled.

Michael Klag, MD, MPH

Dean, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Health
Chair, External Advisory Board, JHMRI

Dean Klag is a world-renowned kidney disease epidemiologist whose scientific contributions have been in the prevention of kidney disease, hypertension and cardiovascular disease. Before serving as Dean of the Bloomberg School, he spent 18 years on the faculty at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

Gregory Lanzaro, PhD

Director, Mosquito Research Program
University of California Davis

The program coordinates related research at all UC campuses and administers a competitive grants program. Prior to this, he was Professor at the Center for Tropical Diseases, University of Texas Medical Branch, and a MacArthur Fellow at the Laboratory of Malaria Research at the National Institutes of Health. His research interest is in the area of insect vector genetics, with a focus on the population genetics of malaria vectors in Africa. He also focuses on evolutionary interactions among vector, parasites and mammalian host at the molecular level, based on analysis of insect salivary proteins and the genes that encode them.

Bernard Roizman, ScD

Associate Professor of Microbiology
University of Chicago

He received his Sc.D. from the Johns Hopkins School of Public Heath in 1956 and remained on the Johns Hopkins University faculty until moving to The University of Chicago in 1965 as an Associate Professor of Microbiology. He is the Joseph Regenstein Distinguished Service Professor of Virology in the Departments of Microbiology, and Molecular Genetics & Cell Biology.

Eric Schoomaker, MD, PhD, LTG USA (Ret.)

Scholar-in-Residence and Distinguished Professor
Office of the President at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

General Schoomaker served as the 42nd Surgeon General of the United States Army and Commanding General, United States Army Medical Command, and a practicing hematologist. He previously served as Commanding General, North Atlantic Regional Medical Command and Walter Reed Army Medical Center.

Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS

Professor of Epidemiology
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

He was Dean of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health from 1990- 2005. His research interests include outcome assessments, child survival, epidemiology of visual disorders, glaucoma, vitamin A deficiency, blindness prevention strategies, cost-benefit analysis, the growing interface between medicine and public health and clinical guidelines.

Allan Spradling, PhD

Director, Department of Embryology
Carnegie Institution of Washington
Baltimore, MD

Dr. Spradling is the Director of the Department of Embryology at the Carnegie Institution of Washington in Baltimore, MD. He holds adjunct appointments in the Department of Biology and the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics at the Johns Hopkins University and the Johns Hopkins Medical Institutes. Using Drosophila he studies the biology of reproduction. He is interested in stem cells, egg development, and new technology for understanding how genes control tissue development and function. His group investigates the basic biology of tissue stem cells and explores the parallels between germ cell development in Drosophila and mammals.

Kathryn Zoon, PhD

Director, Division of Intramural Research (DIR)
National Institutes of Health

Dr. Zoon was previously Deputy Director for Planning and Development at DIR and she served as the Principal Deputy Director of the Center for Cancer Research at the National Cancer Institute. Before arriving at NIH, Dr. Zoon led the FDA’s Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research. In addition to serving as Associate Editor of the Journal of Interferon Research, Dr. Zoon also serves on the Board of Directors of the International Association for Biologicals. She earned her doctorate degree from Johns Hopkins University.